MONDAY 4 NOV 2013 2:42 PM


Seven candidates from this year’s CIPR elections received a treat on Halloween night as the ballots for CIPR Council seats closed.

Alongside the newly-elected board were two uncontested appointments. Dave Sanders will stay on as treasurer and Sarah Pinch, who has been confirmed as the president-elect for 2014.  

The 15 who ran in the election for seven Council positions included two former presidents, five current board members and one current Council member.

Newly re-elected Council member Jason MacKenzie, MD at Liquid, says, “I’m delighted to have been elected to Council for a second time. I’m especially enthused about the prospect of playing a role in seeing president-elect Stephen Waddington’s ambitious pledges be translated into action. I campaigned on an agenda of engaging with the regions and nations - from the Channel Islands to Scotland, championing professional development - and increasing dialogue with bodies such as the Chartered Institute of Marketing and the Institute of Directors. I hope that 2014 will see significant advances on all of these fronts.”

The Council, responsible for governance and control of the chartered organisation, is comprised of 21 elected members, representatives from each of the CIPR’s 25 regional and topical groups as well as the honorary positions of president – current, past and future – as well as the treasurer. Seven new members are elected each year for a term of three years.

“I would also like to offer my congratulations to all the candidates who stood for Council, whether or not they were successful, on a good, lively election which was positive and friendly throughout. Everyone who stood has demonstrated the personal leadership that organisations like the CIPR need from their members in order to thrive,” Sue Wolstenholme, CIPR president, says.

The successful candidates include:

  • Richard Evans 
  • Steve Falla 
  • Shelley Fletcher-Bryant 
  • Sarah Hall 
  • Jason MacKenzie
  • Sally Sykes 
  • Grant Thoms